Club achievements

21 x Czech League Champions

Slavia has won 21 domestic champion titles. In 1913 Slavia won its first title officially acknowledged by the Czech-Moravia Football Association and official football historians. The coach of the first domestic Slavia champions was John William Madden. Then we won the title in 1925, 1928/1929, 1929/1930, 1930/1931, 1932/1933, 1933/1934, 1934/1935 (double – winning both the league and the cup), 1936/1937, 1939/1940, 1940/1941 (double), 1941/1942 (double), 1942/1943, 1946/1947, 1995/1996, 2007/2008, 2008/2009, 2016/2017, 2018/2019 (double) 2019/2020 a 2020/2021. On 2nd May 2021 Slavia won their third title in a row under coach Jindřich Trpišovský.

4 x Charity Cup

The Czech Football Association established the Charity Cup in 1905 with the first match being played a year later. Slavia won their first Charity Cup in 1908 and followed up on that success to win again in 1910, 1911 and 1912.

10 x Central Bohemian Cup

A regular cup competition of Prague and Central Bohemian clubs started in 1918. We won the Central Bohemian Cup ten times in total.

10 x Czech Cup

Slavia won the Czech Cup in 1940/1941 (beating Sparta 2:3 a 6:3 in a two-leg final), 1941/1942 (5:2 and 5:5 with AFK Bohemia) and in 1945 (finals with SK Rakovník 1:1 and 5:2). The cup in 1945 was called the Liberation Cup thanks to the end of WW II followed by a long pause until the season 1973/1974 when Slavia won their first major trophy since the era of Pepi Bican and Vlasta Kopecký, beating Sparta in the second leg of the final. After drawing 1:1 at home, we conquered Sparta 3:1 in the away leg. This victory was again followed by a long cup drought because the next season Slavia lost to Slovan Bratislava, winner of the Slovak Cup, in the final of the Czechoslovak Cup (1:0, 0:1) after a penalty shootout (3:4).

In the modern era, the red-whites lifted the Czech Cup (then called ČMFS Cup) three times: in 1997, 1999 and 2002. The final in 1997 was played on 15th June at Strahov Stadium which witnessed a small Prague Derby between Slavia and Dukla attended by 8236 spectators. No goal was scored despite the best efforts of both teams and the match went into extra time. František Cipro’s squad managed to win with the following line-up: Stejskal – Hyský (53. Řehák) – Vlček, Kozel, Ašanin – Lasota (100. Pěnička), Ulich, Horváth, Novotný – Vágner (67. Vávra) – Vácha.

In 1999 Slavia progressed to the final again and faced Slovan Liberec on 25th May. The match also went to extra time and we lifted the cup thanks to the golden goal rule. The coach Jaroslav Hřebík lead the following squad: Černý – Vlček, Rada, Petrouš, Labant – Lerch, Ulich, Horváth, Skála (77. Dostálek) – Zelenka (60. Malár), Vágner.

On 13th May 2002, the Strahov Stadium welcomed 8820 fans for the cup final which was also a Prague Derby against Sparta. Slavia supporters had a reason to cheer when Tomáš Došek found the net from the first dangerous situation. He scored again in the 17th minute. Four minutes later, Sparta’s captain Novotný deflected the ball into our net – 1:2. However that was the last goal of the game and coach Miroslav Beránek and his squad could celebrate: Černý – L. Došek, Šuškavčevič, Petrouš, Skácel – Piták, Dostálek, Gedeon (86. Stibůrek), Kuchař – T. Došek, Kuka (10. Vachoušek).

Nowadays the Czech Cup is called the MOL Cup. It was on 9th May 2018 in Mladá Boleslav when Slavia players finally lifted the domestic cup after a long 16 year wait, defeating Jablonec 3:1. We eliminated Třinec, Jihlava, Liberec and Mladá Boleslav on our way to the final. Stanislav Tecl scored the first two goals of the final, Miroslav Stoch added the third. The line-up for the final: Kolář – Frydrych (90. Kúdela), Jugas, Ngadeu, Bořil – Souček – Stoch (90. Danny), Hušbauer, Sýkora, Zmrhal – Tecl (81. Škoda). Jaroslav Šilhavý was the head coach in the first half of the season and later passed the helm to Jindřich Trpišovský.

Slavia managed to win the domestic cup again in 2018/2019 when we defeated Baník Ostrava on 22nd May 2019. Three days after securing the domestic title, Slavia won the first double after 77 years. Tomáš Souček scored from a penalty in the 37th minute, Lukáš Masopust added another goal in the 78th minute. Coach Jindřich Trpišovský nominated the following squad for the final: Kolář – Frydrych, Ngadeu, Deli, Bořil – Souček, Traoré (55. Král) – Masopust, Hušbauer (73. Olayinka), Zmrhal – Škoda (83. Kúdela).

Another double arrived on 20th May 2021 when Slavia defeated Plzeň away 1:0, winning the third domestic cup in four years. The scorer of the goal was Abdallah Sima thanks to a beautiful pass from Ibrahim Traoré. The line-up for the game: Kolář – Bořil, Deli (80. Zima), Kúdela, Masopust (60. Sima) – Ševčík, Hromada (60. Traoré) – Oscar, Stanciu (80. Lingr), Bah – Kuchta (80. Van Buren).

1 x Central European Cup (Mitropa Cup)

On 11th September 1938 Slavia finally won the Central European Cup. In the first round, we eliminated Belgrade 3:2 away and 2:1 in Prague. In the second round, we sensationally swept aside Ambrosiana (today Inter Milan) 9:0 and 3:1. Slavia lost in the first leg of the third round in Genoa 2:4 but managed to turn the game on its head by winning 4:0 at home. Slavia drew 2:2 at home in the first leg of the final with Ferencváros and won away in Budapest 2:0 (Vytlačil, Šimůnek). The winners of the Mitropa Cup are in the picture taken on Sunday 11th September 1938 by Magyár Hírlap. Top row from the left: counsellor of the Czechoslovak Embassy in Hungary Mr. Fíša (a representative of Czechoslovakia in the organizational committee), chairman of the organizational committee signore Coppolla (also Chairman of Italian Football Association) and members of SK Slavia. Václav Valoušek (football chairman in Slavia, head of delegation), Josef Laufer (Slavia international secretary, radio journalist and sports journalist of Czech News Agency), masseur Jiří Heger, Josef Bican, second goalkeeper Alois Bureš, Rudolf Vytlačil, head coach Jan Reichardt, Karel Černý, Ladislav Šimůnek, Aleksa Bokšay, in non-sports clothes: Václav Pechar (Slavia player in 1920 – 1924, in Budapest as team leader) and Václav Bouška who played both legs against Belgrade. Bottom row from the left: Vojta Bradáč, in non-sports clothes Koloman Bobor (former Slavia player in 1927 – 1929 of Hungarian origin, served as an interpreter for the English referee Jewell), Otakar Nožíř, team captain Ferdinand Daučík with the trophy, Vlasta Kopecký, Karel Průcha and Bedřich Vacek.